keeper software setup

Installation and configuration.
Post Reply
User avatar
priel71
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:10 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Contact:

keeper software setup

Post by priel71 »

Hi, when setting up the software after my new install of CGRU, I get the following message from keeper (when starting it by hand from a command prompt):

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/mnt/cgru/utilities/keeper/software.py", line 218, in locateNuke locateSoftware('Nuke')
File "/mnt/cgru/utilities/keeper/software.py", line 159, in locateSoftware
filename, fltr = QtWidgets.QFileDialog.getOpenFileName(None, 'Select %s executable:' % soft)
ValueError: too many values to unpack

Any ideas?

My nuke folder is installed on a shared nfs mount which is pushed out to all compositors (/mnt/shared/nuke/...)

Peter.
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 910
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: keeper software setup

Post by timurhai »

Hi.
Try to use PySide (or PyQt5, or PySide2, but not PyQt4).
It seems that QtWidgets.QFileDialog.getOpenFileName returns not a tuple in PyQt4.

CGRU software setup is designed and used for the project testing, demonstrations, developing.
I can't say that "CGRU software setup" approach is good, clean, flexible. I should just work on some fresh system, that is all.
Almost all studios uses own software setup.
Better to have own 'nuke' command in 'PATH' and do the way you want and control totally.

To override 'nuke' command that CGRU setup puts to PATH you can add any setup_mystudio.sh (setup_*.sh) files in a cgru root folder.
Such files will be sourced latest.
( there you can add own PATH with 'nuke' command )

ps
Our studio uses own software setup too.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.3.1, Ubuntu 20.04, 22.04, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
User avatar
priel71
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:10 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Contact:

Re: keeper software setup

Post by priel71 »

Thank you Timur, yes I do source your script into our main .bashrc file, was just curious to check out the software setup stuff you have built in as many of the guys here are asking about it. Maybe we could have a option to disable that stuff in the keeper menu? Just at thought...

Peter.
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 910
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: keeper software setup

Post by timurhai »

Hi.
For now it is not documented.
But keeper has tray menu has:
https://github.com/CGRU/cgru/blob/maste ... ray.py#L59

So you can configure (config.json) menu_path variable and keeper will work some other menu (not cgru/start).
( Out artists use keeper to launch something too, but we have a completely other menu )
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.3.1, Ubuntu 20.04, 22.04, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 910
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: keeper software setup

Post by timurhai »

It is not documented mostly because it was done in a hurry.
I think that we should rename this variable in something line "keeper_menu_path".
And at least put it in config_default.json with some comments.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.3.1, Ubuntu 20.04, 22.04, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
User avatar
priel71
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:10 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Contact:

Re: keeper software setup

Post by priel71 »

That's cool, I didn't know we could alter the keeper menu, opens up a lot of possibilities. Thanks.

Peter.
User avatar
lulu116
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: Paris - France

Re: keeper software setup

Post by lulu116 »

hello
I have the same problem here with Natron
could you describe a little bit more what I should do to have my paths correctly used
the Natron executable is installed in a shared dir : /shared/apps/Natron-2.3.2/Natron which is in the $PATH env
if I try to launch Natron from the keeper menu I have this message :
natron
HOSTNAME=s003
NATRON = '/opt/Natron/Natron'
/shared1/apps/cgru/software_setup/bin/natron: line 5: /opt/Natron/Natron: No such file or directory

I tried to setup_soft in the keeper menu but I have these messages :

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/mnt/autofs/shared1/apps/cgru/utilities/keeper/software.py", line 214, in locateNatron
locateSoftware('Natron')
File "/mnt/autofs/shared1/apps/cgru/utilities/keeper/software.py", line 159, in locateSoftware
filename, fltr = QtWidgets.QFileDialog.getOpenFileName(None, 'Select %s executable:' % soft)
ValueError: too many values to unpack

thanks in advance
luc
KDE neon User Edition - 18.04 - bionic - No windows for me thanks
User avatar
lulu116
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: Paris - France

Re: keeper software setup

Post by lulu116 »

ok I've got it
>export CGRU_PYTHONEXE="python3" did the trick it's now working as expected
sorry for the noise
luc
KDE neon User Edition - 18.04 - bionic - No windows for me thanks
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 910
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: keeper software setup

Post by timurhai »

/shared1/apps/cgru/software_setup/bin/natron: line 5: /opt/Natron/Natron: No such file or directory
- Loot at how CGRU finds Natron: https://github.com/CGRU/cgru/blob/maste ... _natron.sh. You can write your own script(s) to find(setup) Natron and any other software.

filename, fltr = QtWidgets.QFileDialog.getOpenFileName(None, 'Select %s executable:' % soft)
ValueError: too many values to unpack
- This is some PyQt / PySide versions incompatibility bug. CGRU python scripts should work within any version of Python+PyQt/PySide - but it is not so easy and periodically some bug on some platforms(pythons) happens, sorry. You can try to support this in CGRU too ))
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.3.1, Ubuntu 20.04, 22.04, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
User avatar
lulu116
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: Paris - France

Re: keeper software setup

Post by lulu116 »

thank you Timur
I've got it now.I managed to get natron/nuke/houdini setup ok.
luc
KDE neon User Edition - 18.04 - bionic - No windows for me thanks
Post Reply