Walk and multiple roots?

Customize rules.
Post Reply
User avatar
priel71
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:10 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Contact:

Walk and multiple roots?

Post by priel71 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:06 am

Hi, what is the reason Rules want to create a .rules folder above the "root" directive? In the below, my "root" is set to /mnt/projects and this is what the walk log tells me:

"updating" :"/mnt", "error_make_dir" :"[Errno 13] Permission denied: '/mnt/.rules'",

Also, is it possible to have several "root" folders for Rules to look in? At the moment only one folder serves as the main place where projects are stored. If the studio uses multiple servers where projects are spread out to due to network load balancing etc, then this approach makes it difficult? I could symlink in the various projects from the other servers by hand, but it would be messy to make path maps for all the keeper integration etc to work.. any thoughts?

Peter.

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 245
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Walk and multiple roots?

Post by timurhai » Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:08 pm

Hi.

Hm, walk.py should not do it. Try to execute this Python script by hands.
What walk command Rules have sent to Afanasy?

For now several roots is not possible. But we can discuss it.

Once we have projects on different file-servers.
A script was written and executed on all machines that combine all needed data in one root folder.
This was done for artists. They always have the same paths, even if a project (some part of a project) moved on other file server.
And they should not remember where data is physically located.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.2.3 Ubuntu 14.04LTS (gcc4.8.4)

User avatar
priel71
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:10 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Contact:

Re: Walk and multiple roots?

Post by priel71 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:22 pm

I will try to run it by hand,... maybe my path mapping is all screwy again. I seem to always struggle with that!

I see, yes it's nice for artists... I guess you are symlinking then? I'm concerned about network bandwidth, and redundancy... we have a 1gb ethernet for the 3d guys and then infiniband for the compers and simulation guys... if I had them all reading / writing from the same server it would surely bottlneck and start crawling speedwise...

Peter.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest