Rename "Render" to something else

Feature requests discussion.
Post Reply
lithorus
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:14 pm

Rename "Render" to something else

Post by lithorus » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:12 am

This is something which is confusing new users of Afanasy (atleast on my end).

"Render" is usually refering to an output of a "Render job/task".

Deadline : "Slave"
Qube : "Worker"
Tractor : "Blade"
RoyalRender : "Client"
Render Pal : "Client"
Smedge : "Engine"
Flamenco : "Worker"
Backburner : "Server"

My suggestion would be either "Render Node" or just "Node".

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Rename "Render" to something else

Post by timurhai » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:44 am

May be it is a good idea.
But not into 'Node'
As in the code, there is 'af::Node', that is a base class for any node in a container.
Job, render, monitor classes are based from 'af::Node'.
Or we should rename lots it in the code.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.2.3 Ubuntu 14.04LTS (gcc4.8.4)

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Rename "Render" to something else

Post by timurhai » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:45 am

Also 'Client' is used in a code too, it is any client, and GUI(monitor) and render.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.2.3 Ubuntu 14.04LTS (gcc4.8.4)

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Rename "Render" to something else

Post by timurhai » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:47 am

'Server' and 'slave' words are used too :)
Server is afserver, slave is used in multi-hosts tasks along with 'master'.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.2.3 Ubuntu 14.04LTS (gcc4.8.4)

lithorus
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:14 pm

Re: Rename "Render" to something else

Post by lithorus » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:56 am

Yes, Server is the worst possible name for a Render Node :)

Blade perhaps?

It seems that afermer is already using that term.

And Blade is also used as a term for physical machines.

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Rename "Render" to something else

Post by timurhai » Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:26 am

May be.
But not for now, so much to rename...
( at least it should be 2.3.0 )
Lets keep this issue, may be some other names we will think up.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.2.3 Ubuntu 14.04LTS (gcc4.8.4)

lithorus
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:14 pm

Re: Rename "Render" to something else

Post by lithorus » Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:38 am

Yes, or perhaps even wait for 3.0?

avclubvids
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:17 pm

Re: Rename "Render" to something else

Post by avclubvids » Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:23 pm

I'd normally vote for "slave", "worker", or "node", but given the already-used nature of most of the good names, I'd even recommend just "renderers" - the problem is that the "render" button looks like a verb, an action you can do, not a tab filled with the nodes doing the rendering.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest