Question for Max users (program reloading every frame)

Post Reply
User avatar
firemist
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:31 pm

Question for Max users (program reloading every frame)

Post by firemist » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:03 pm

I have just started using CGRU/Afanasy. I have been successful rendering with both AfterEffects and 3ds Max, but have a question regarding Max: In the tests I have done, my render machines restart Max after each frame; or they are possibly just re-loading the scene each frame. In either case, that adds a lot of overhead. I think I do not properly understand the batch command structure for Max -- I have been using only BackBurner until now (but for over 10 years). Is there a parameter I should use to send "blocks" of multiple frames to a Max render? I have found in the AE script I can send large blocks of frames (I use 200 or more) to lessen the program-reload overhead. Is there a similar parameter for Max that I have overlooked?
Thanks -- Jeff
CGRU 2.2.3 · systems: Ubuntu 14&16, Win 7&10 · 3ds Max & AE

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 362
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Question for Max users (program reloading every frame)

Post by timurhai » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:39 pm

Afanasy uses 3dsmaxcmd.exe to render a scene file. It loads and reloads the entire application on each task.
But task can consist of any number of frames. Use frames per task parameter.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.3.0 Debian 9, Ubuntu 18.04LTS, MS Windows 7,10 (client only).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest