Page 1 of 1

Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 11:17 am
by Mikas
Hi,

I have an issue, I couldn't solve myself. Basically if I set frames per task anything more than 1 mantra still renders 1 frame only. Say I put 2 frames per task. 2 IFD files are being generated correctly, and then mantra task finishes one frame only and marks job as finished.

IFD generation executable:

Code: Select all

frame 1-2
hbatch[hbatch]:1000 frames(1,2,2):
Command:
hrender_af -s 1 -e 2 --by 1 -t "_current_" "N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests\SHOTS\test\LIGHT\pig_oracle_test_open_shader_v012-mantra_render-_current_.1031-131341-596.hip" "/out/PIG"
Working Directory:
N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests
Files:
N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests\SHOTS\test\IMG\RENDERS\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V037\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_acescg_V037_0001.exr
N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests\SHOTS\test\IMG\RENDERS\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V037\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_acescg_V037_0002.exr
Mantra job seems to take into account only first frame and ignore $F4 variable:

Code: Select all

frame 1-2
mantra[mantra]:1000 frames(1,2,2):
Command:
mantra -V a -f N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests\SHOTS\test\CACHE\IFD\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V036\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V036_0001.ifd.sc
Working Directory:
N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests
And afwatch shows that job as done without errors, though mantra rendered one frame (screenshot):

https://drive.google.com/file/d/16fQ79K ... sp=sharing

Re: Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 12:30 pm
by timurhai
Hi.

As far as i know mantra can`t render several ifds. And mantra command can't process $F4 or %04d or other numeric patterns in ifd file name.
So it can render one frame per command only.
And you should keep it mind generating jobs.

Re: Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 12:44 pm
by Mikas
I see. So basically mantra task is limited to one frame per task only then? Is it possible to group them somehow?
Basically what I'm trying to achieve is to launch an instance in the cloud and tell it that I want to render say 10 frames on it and then terminate the instance (node). Is there any way to wrap several mantra frames into one task like this?

Re: Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:01 pm
by timurhai
You can run your script, that will run mantra command in cycle to render an ifds sequence.

Re: Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:29 pm
by Mikas
Thanks for the suggestion, will try that.