Not Solving in parallel mode

General discussions and questions.
Post Reply
seven11
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:03 pm

Not Solving in parallel mode

Post by seven11 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:51 pm

Hi Timur,
If I run Afanasy with this config:

Code: Select all

"":"Solving:",
	"af_solving_use_capacity":true,
		"":"Calculate need using running tasks total capacity.",
		"":"If not, use only running tasks number",

	"af_solving_use_user_priority":false,
		"":"Whether task solving takes user priority into account or not. If set on,",
		"":"Jobs are sorted by user's priority first, then by job priority within a user.",
		"":"If not, only job proirities are used.",

	"af_solving_simpler":true,
		"":"Use a simplified solving algorithm. No notion of 'need' is used: jobs are",
		"":"sorted by priority first, and creation date then (older first).",

	"":""
And I set the submitting user to "Parallel" mode and submit 3 500 frame jobs across 12 renders all with the same Priority. The Solver will not balance the jobs across the all renders. IE. First job should be on 4 renders, Second job another four renders, Third on the last four renders.

Is there something I'm missing?
Thanks,
Scott

selsner
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:20 am

Re: Not Solving in parallel mode

Post by selsner » Mon Mar 27, 2017 12:13 pm

I think when we implemented this here at work, the parallel mode (which is set on the user ) was not implemented for the scenario. I think it only works in the "af_solving_use_capacity": false case currently.
CGRU 2.2.1 - CentOS 6.6, gcc 4.4.7, Qt 4.6

Sebastian Elsner - Pipeline Technical Director - RISE
www.risefx.com

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 463
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Not Solving in parallel mode

Post by timurhai » Mon Mar 27, 2017 1:45 pm

After "af_solving_use_user_priority":false jobs, not users are solved.
If you want user jobs to be solved parallel, you should let server to solve users first, than it will try to solver users jobs parallel, if it is set.
Try to set "af_solving_simpler":false, if want to solve jobs (not users) and parallel.

Here can be a little mess with parameters naming, but they will be changed in a new solving algorithm (with projects and pools), when it will be done.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.4.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).

seven11
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:03 pm

Re: Not Solving in parallel mode

Post by seven11 » Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:33 pm

Hi Timur,
Ahh OK, I will try it with "af_solving_use_user_priority" set true then.
Looking forward to trying the new solver.
Thanks,
Scott

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest