Page 1 of 1

Task has not started

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 4:21 pm
by keyframe
I'm hoping that i'm missing something obvious so please don't hesitate to point and laugh at me. :D

I submitted a job which simply sits there saying: ERROR: Task is not started.
The hostmask seems legit, the capacity seems fine, the service is available on the targeted nodes, but for some reason it's not being dispatched.

Is there anywhere else I might look for a clue as to why it's not dispatching?

G

Re: Task has not started

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 5:05 pm
by timurhai
Hi.

It can be also stopped when:
- zero max run tasks, max run tasks per host, priority
- hosts can be NIMBY/Paused, has zero max tasks, priority
And same parameters for a job user.

If you are using a new pre-release version with branches, you should also check job branch parameters.

You should always specify version and OS.
You can write in your signature.

Re: Task has not started

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 3:41 pm
by keyframe
Thanks Timur.

Sadly, it appears that all the suggested parameters are set as expected. Other jobs submitted from the same DCC are running -- but one will not. Must be a ghost in the machine -- or I pushed some bullshit code to the floor ;)

Thanks for following up. I'll post if I ever get to the bottom of this.

G

ps: added sig as per your suggestion.

Re: Task has not started

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:34 am
by timurhai
Hi.
If some is running and some one does not, try to find the difference between them.

Sure, please post if you will find the reason.