New node type - Branch (a set of jobs).

News, releases and other announcements.
Post Reply
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

New node type - Branch (a set of jobs).

Post by timurhai » Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:51 pm

For now it exists only in master repo.
Later it will be in 2.3.0 release.
I wrote documentation for it:

http://cgru.info/afanasy/branch

- Is it clear?
- Any mistakes?
- Spelling?
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.3.0 Debian 9, Ubuntu 18.04LTS, MS Windows 7,10 (client only).

lithorus
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:14 pm

Re: New node type - Branch (a set of jobs).

Post by lithorus » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:52 am

Really nice feature. Can't wait to use it in production :-)

Should we let it replace the project attribute?

A few spelling mistakes, will submit a pull request later :-)

lithorus
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:14 pm

Re: New node type - Branch (a set of jobs).

Post by lithorus » Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:11 pm

One thing though I noticed with branches. It should be configurable to set a root from which it should create branches from.

Eg. if you have mounted '/mnt/servers/A/projectB' it would give you alot of sub branches which adds no value.

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: New node type - Branch (a set of jobs).

Post by timurhai » Thu May 03, 2018 10:26 am

Hi.
We are already using 2.3.0 with branches for about 3 weeks.
It seems to be working normally.
For now only 1 new bug - afserver on exit can hung (sigsegv), but only on exit (may be some double free on branches deletion that i will fix some later).

Configurable root - good idea.
How do you think, we should configure it on a client or server side, or may be both?
I should be some path "/mnt/servers/A" that should be cut from the beginning of the string?
Or may be some mask (regexp)?
Or like a path map, search and replace strings pair(s)?
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.3.0 Debian 9, Ubuntu 18.04LTS, MS Windows 7,10 (client only).

lithorus
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:14 pm

Re: New node type - Branch (a set of jobs).

Post by lithorus » Thu May 03, 2018 9:20 pm

Hmm... I think it should be when it evaluates which branch to parent, so server side? Perhaps x amount of levels to ignore and OS specific. Either way it's always possible to override it when submitting I guess..

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: New node type - Branch (a set of jobs).

Post by timurhai » Tue May 08, 2018 10:32 am

If you will have /mnt/servers/A/projectB along with /mnt/servers/B/projectF we need something like paths mapping.
So i think it should be client side.
I want any soft (on my job) knows project and some scene/shot/asset that artist working with (and soon will implement this).
So branches that are scene file location by default can be easily set by af.Job.setBranch(any_string) to any smarter location.
So, now i think that it should be on client side only, let server be simpler and so more reliable.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.3.0 Debian 9, Ubuntu 18.04LTS, MS Windows 7,10 (client only).

lithorus
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:14 pm

Re: New node type - Branch (a set of jobs).

Post by lithorus » Tue May 08, 2018 10:51 am

Sounds good.

If people need to use this for site seperation they likely have their own submitters and can set the branch manually.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest