Houdini Sliced Particles Distributed Sim Problem

Post Reply
Sleng
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:14 am

Houdini Sliced Particles Distributed Sim Problem

Post by Sleng » Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:51 am

Hi guys,
I'm trying to understand how can I use Afanasy for distributed simulations.
I create a particle sim scene with slices. Sending it to the farm and everything looks right but for some reason it stopping after first frame of simulation.
No errors, just have no progress.
Some one can help me to setup it in correct way please?
Im using Win10 Houdini 16.5 Afaniasy 2.3.1
Link to scene file:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/lpwiu8di2a9lg ... 3.hip?dl=0

01.jpg
01.jpg (151.44 KiB) Viewed 552 times
02.jpg
02.jpg (49.49 KiB) Viewed 552 times
03.jpg
03.jpg (82.4 KiB) Viewed 552 times

Sleng
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:14 am

Re: Houdini Sliced Particles Distributed Sim Problem

Post by Sleng » Wed Mar 27, 2019 9:37 am

I guess there is some problem maybe with tracker
DD.jpg
DD.jpg (58.14 KiB) Viewed 549 times
EE.jpg
EE.jpg (87.44 KiB) Viewed 549 times
FF.png
FF.png (47.02 KiB) Viewed 549 times

Sleng
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:14 am

Re: Houdini Sliced Particles Distributed Sim Problem

Post by Sleng » Wed Mar 27, 2019 9:38 am

FF.png
FF.png (47.02 KiB) Viewed 548 times
GG.png
GG.png (35.89 KiB) Viewed 548 times
HH.png
HH.png (58.56 KiB) Viewed 548 times

Sleng
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:14 am

Re: Houdini Sliced Particles Distributed Sim Problem

Post by Sleng » Wed Mar 27, 2019 9:45 am

or maybe problem with setup.
I successfully sent render and clustered pyro sim to Hqueue farm.
But when im trying to send sliced flip sim to Hqueue I have similar problem.

Sleng
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:14 am

Re: Houdini Sliced Particles Distributed Sim Problem

Post by Sleng » Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:36 am

Could be possible what problem is port address?
For some reason in log and in properties tracker ports are different
Attachments
Clip2net_190327183448.png
Clip2net_190327183448.png (105.08 KiB) Viewed 540 times

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Houdini Sliced Particles Distributed Sim Problem

Post by timurhai » Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:49 am

Hi.
Long time with no answer...
I think this is because distributed simulation is a most complex theme.
There can be lots of reasons that it does not work.

"I'm trying to understand how can I use Afanasy for distributed simulations."
- the same as HQueue.

When Houdini computes the same (sliced) simulation on a different machines it uses Tracker to find each other.
Tracker is a server written python script with a web gui for logs.

Afanasy and HQueue does the same:
- Run Tracker server and store its address and port
- Run hython for each slice, open scene. Set $SLICE variable and and tell control node where to find Tracker:Port.
- Stop Tracker server.
So initial address and port that is set in a control node does not play any role in this case.

To debug some problem scene you can do the same manually, w/o any render manager.
- Run Tracker manually.
- Open several Houdini applications and open you scene (same scene) in each (no matter on the same machine or not).
- Set $SLICE variable on each Houdini instance (0,1,2,...).
- Set Tracker address and port in a control node.
- Push "Play" button.
Scene should play on all machines. You can use Tracker Web GUI for logs.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.4.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests