Blender won't run from Keeper

General discussions and questions.
Post Reply
Linux
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Blender won't run from Keeper

Post by Linux » Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:26 pm

Hi CGRU team,

I installed CGRU on a Windows 7 computer.

I started the Afanasy server first.
Then the renderclient.

Everything is on one computer, for testing purposes.
The version is 2.2.3.

Then I wanted to use the Keeper to set up Blender.
For this I selected the path of the Blender.exe over the dialog.

If I want to start Blender via the Keeper, the Explorer opens.

The same for Natron.

Did I forget something?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Best regards,
Linux

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Blender won't run from Keeper

Post by timurhai » Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:16 am

Hi.
Look at this file:
https://github.com/CGRU/cgru/blob/maste ... lender.cmd

Last line are:

Code: Select all

set "locate_file=%CGRU_LOCATION%\software_setup\locate_blender.cmd"
if exist "%locate_file%" call "%locate_file%"
When you setup soft location from Keeper, it should create a file %CGRU_LOCATION%\software_setup\locate_blender.cmd
Look at that file. Is it correct? You can paste it here.

btw
What is the default Blender installation location?
W/O setup from Keeper, can it launch Blender?
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.3.0 Debian 9, Ubuntu 18.04LTS, MS Windows 7,10 (client only).

Linux
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Blender won't run from Keeper

Post by Linux » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:13 am

Hi.

Thank you for your prompt reply.

I looked at this file.

locate_blender.cmd

Code: Select all

rem Created by Keeper at Fri Oct 19 15:16:50 2018
set APP_DIR=C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender
set APP_EXE=%APP_DIR%\blender.exe
The path is correct.

The default blender location is: C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender

I have reinstalled CGRU.

I started the Keeper program and then started it under Software Blender.
It worked without setting the path.
Natron worked too.

But why doesn't it work if you set the path?

Best regards,
Linux

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Blender won't run from Keeper

Post by timurhai » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:22 am

I think that we should fix Keeper to create location files with quotes, like this:

Code: Select all

rem Created by Keeper at Fri Oct 19 15:16:50 2018
set "APP_DIR=C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender"
set "APP_EXE=%APP_DIR%\blender.exe"
You can try to add to quotes to that file manually, if everything is OK, i can fix it.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.3.0 Debian 9, Ubuntu 18.04LTS, MS Windows 7,10 (client only).

Linux
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Blender won't run from Keeper

Post by Linux » Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:12 pm

I installed CGRU again on another workstation to reconstruct the problem.

But now everything works fine without the quotes.

Maybe something went wrong with my first attempt.

My first attempt:
1. CGRU unpacked
2. CGRU copied to C:/Program Files/CGRU
3. Afanasy server started
4. Afanasy render started
5. keeper started
6. software -> setup soft -> blender
7. Selected Blender executable.
8. tries to start Blender via Keeper.

I tried to reconstruct this but now everything works.

I'll watch this again, maybe this will show up again. But I didn't have any problems with it before.

Thank you very much!

Best regards!
Linux

Linux
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Blender won't run from Keeper

Post by Linux » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:04 pm

I found the problem.

It was CGRU version 2.3.0.

We tried to update recently.

The following features do not work with version 2.3.0 on Windows 7 and 10.

1. Set Software
2. AfStarter does not start (Keeper)
3. AfWatch does not start (Keeper)
4. Blender and Natron do not start via Keeper by default.

The features of version 2.2.3 work.

Maybe this will help you.

Best regards,
Linux

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Blender won't run from Keeper

Post by timurhai » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:14 pm

Can AfStarter and AfWatch be started not from Keeper, but directly from cgru/start/AFANASY ?
It seems that Keeper can't start anything.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.3.0 Debian 9, Ubuntu 18.04LTS, MS Windows 7,10 (client only).

Linux
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Blender won't run from Keeper

Post by Linux » Mon Oct 22, 2018 4:50 pm

No, the programs show the following error messages.
Images are in the attachments.
Attachments
afwatch.png
afwatch.png (32.1 KiB) Viewed 493 times
afstarter.png
afstarter.png (63.97 KiB) Viewed 493 times

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Blender won't run from Keeper

Post by timurhai » Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:01 pm

This is not a proper way to run Afanasy applications.
Keeper just walk this dir to construct menu. And run this files:
cgru/start/AFANASY

Anyway.
I just checked 2.3.0 release on a fresh Windows7 system and Keeper can't run anything.
May be something with the latest Python+Qt+PySide versions.
I just archived and put in downloads a version from my work, with not so modern Python+Qt+PySide versions.
And it works.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.3.0 Debian 9, Ubuntu 18.04LTS, MS Windows 7,10 (client only).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests