Windows to Linux paths errors

Mikas
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Windows to Linux paths errors

Post by Mikas » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:10 pm

Hi,

I'm setting up a linux renderfarm. Jobs are being sent from Windows workstations. I setup path conversions, it shows properly in logs:

{
...
"working_directory": "/mnt/LUA_BlockDevice1/PRJ/RND/18008_AzureTests",
"files_block": [
"/mnt/LUA_BlockDevice1/PRJ/RND/18008_AzureTests/SHOTS/test/IMG/RENDERS/LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V003/LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_acescg_V003_@####@.exr"
],
"parsed_files": [
"/mnt/LUA_BlockDevice1/PRJ/RND/18008_AzureTests/SHOTS/test/IMG/RENDERS/LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V003/LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_acescg_V003_0001.exr"
]
}

But instead of rendering to the correct location on the Linux server it renders into correct project folder where it creates windows drive/folder structure, in my case N: drive and so on, so ifd's are not available to mantra obviously.
Any suggestions how to debug this behavior?

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Windows to Linux paths errors

Post by timurhai » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:29 pm

Hi.

Who and when "creates windows drive/folder structure"?
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.4.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).

Mikas
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Windows to Linux paths errors

Post by Mikas » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:45 pm

hbatch on linux machine, though I cannot see that in Afanasy log.

Mikas
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Windows to Linux paths errors

Post by Mikas » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:49 pm

Basically I'm using $JOB for all my paths inside of HIP files. In windows it's N: drive, in Linux it's /mnt/LUA_BLockDevice1

I added windows to linux path conversion in config files, I even hardcoded $JOB variable on linux render node just to be sure. In Houdini and Mantra logs in Afanasy it shows correct Linux paths, but when renders it looks like all windows paths are added as absolute paths instead of reletive to $JOB variable.

Mikas
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Windows to Linux paths errors

Post by Mikas » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:50 pm

Even if ifds are being generated on Linux machine, not on windows machine.

Mikas
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Windows to Linux paths errors

Post by Mikas » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:57 pm

When I manually moved ifds to correct location, I checked the mantra log and it looks for windows paths as well, meaning IFDs are already generated with absolute windows paths somehow, unless I'm interpreting it wrong:

Generating Image: N:/PRJ/RND/18008_AzureTests/SHOTS/test/IMG/RENDERS/LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V003/LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_acescg_V003_0001.exr

instead of /mnt/LUA_BlockDevice1/...

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Windows to Linux paths errors

Post by timurhai » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:57 pm

Better to use $HIP variable, or (and even better) your custom, that you control manually.

ps
We are not using $JOB variable at all, it seems that $JOB behavior is differ on Linux&Windows.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.4.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).

Mikas
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Windows to Linux paths errors

Post by Mikas » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:58 pm

This is raw object from afanasy ifd generation job:

Raw Object:
{
"name": "frame 1",
"service": "hbatch",
"capacity": 1000,
"time_start": 1570802256,
"job_id": 2,
"block_num": 1,
"task_num": 0,
"command_block": "hrender_af -s @#@ -e @#@ --by 1 -t \"_current_\" \"/mnt/LUA_BlockDevice1/PRJ/RND/18008_AzureTests/SHOTS/test/LIGHT/pig_oracle_test_open_shader_v008-afanasy1-_current_-r1280.1011-162713-276.hip\" \"/out/PIG\"",
"command_task": "",
"frame_start": 1,
"frame_finish": 1,
"frames_inc": 1,
"frames_num": 1,
"parser": "hbatch",
"working_directory": "/mnt/LUA_BlockDevice1/PRJ/RND/18008_AzureTests",
"files_block": [
"/mnt/LUA_BlockDevice1/PRJ/RND/18008_AzureTests/SHOTS/test/IMG/RENDERS/LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V003/LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_acescg_V003_@####@.exr"
],
"parsed_files": [
"/mnt/LUA_BlockDevice1/PRJ/RND/18008_AzureTests/SHOTS/test/IMG/RENDERS/LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V003/LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_acescg_V003_0001.exr"
]
}

So parsed_files points to the correct location

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Windows to Linux paths errors

Post by timurhai » Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:04 pm

So may be it is just Houdini scene question, not CGRU Paths Mapping.
Try not to use $JOB (as i wrote before).
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.4.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).

Mikas
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Windows to Linux paths errors

Post by Mikas » Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:37 pm

OK, thanks for the suggestion. I will try to use custom one, I do have it anyway for different purposes. Thanks for your help.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests