Job solving order - complete one task before starting next

General discussions and questions.
Post Reply
User avatar
belegdae
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 2:10 pm

Job solving order - complete one task before starting next

Post by belegdae » Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:34 pm

Hey Timur,

I've been reading the docs, and a couple of threads on here like "viewtopic.php?f=34&t=119" but I can't quite find the answer on possibilities

Currently the (default?) setup will distribute capacity across all jobs and users until they complete.

I'm looking to have afanasy solve jobs by proritising the completion of one job before starting the next, and hopefully distributing capacity among users.

Is this possible to configure?

Thank you,

Bele
Rich
CGRU 2.3.1, Server - Win 2012 R2, 406x Render Nodes - Windows 10.

User avatar
belegdae
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 2:10 pm

Re: Job solving order - complete one task before starting next

Post by belegdae » Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:44 pm

priority.png
priority.png (148.28 KiB) Viewed 339 times
Rich
CGRU 2.3.1, Server - Win 2012 R2, 406x Render Nodes - Windows 10.

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Job solving order - complete one task before starting next

Post by timurhai » Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:31 am

Hi.

Since Afanasy Jobs are organized in the Branches hierarchy, solving settings are Branch parameters, so each Branch solving can differ.
Later solver settings was in the config and can be only the same for the whole server.

Farm resources are distributed along bnaches at first.
Later along branch users or jobs at second.
And if branches solves users, at the next stage resources will be distributed along that users.

When user got some resources, it will be distributes along user jobs, depending on user solve method, order or priority.

If you do not know anything about branches and have not setup them, all your jobs most probably in the same one branch.

On you drawing, on the left: user solve jobs by priority.
And on the right: by order - and this is the dafault behaviour.

So if you install Afanasy from scratch, the situation should be as you show on right.

May be you users STEVE and JACK set solving method to priority?
Or! You have tuned branches somehow. All STEVE and JACK jobs are in the same branch,
and that branch has JOBS solve type (not USERS).
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.4.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).

User avatar
belegdae
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 2:10 pm

Re: Job solving order - complete one task before starting next

Post by belegdae » Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:41 am

Hey, cheers for the help with this!

So, I don't have much experience with the branching setup, so here's a couple of screenshots how they are right now on a testing installation:
Priotity2.png
Priotity2.png (127.91 KiB) Viewed 320 times
Priotity1.png
Priotity1.png (34.85 KiB) Viewed 320 times
So at the moment, there's a single branch, with both tasks in, from a single user, but the capacity is being split across the job block/tasks.
Rich
CGRU 2.3.1, Server - Win 2012 R2, 406x Render Nodes - Windows 10.

User avatar
belegdae
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 2:10 pm

Re: Job solving order - complete one task before starting next

Post by belegdae » Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:44 am

Aha!

So it's configured properly now!
For anyone else who comes across this thread, here's the button I'd missed:
solve3.png
solve3.png (60.53 KiB) Viewed 318 times
Thanks again Timur, really helpful! I need to do some experimenting with branches I think!
Rich
CGRU 2.3.1, Server - Win 2012 R2, 406x Render Nodes - Windows 10.

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Job solving order - complete one task before starting next

Post by timurhai » Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:46 am

Your branch V_/ has JOBS solving type. Set it USR (left panel button).

I should check Afanasy installation from scratch again.
May be there is bug, that branches under the ROOT/ got JOBS solving by default.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.4.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).

User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Job solving order - complete one task before starting next

Post by timurhai » Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:49 am

So you missed USR button, not ORD

With ORD and JOBS branches will solve jobs by order (and not users by priority as you want).
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 2.4.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).

User avatar
belegdae
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 2:10 pm

Re: Job solving order - complete one task before starting next

Post by belegdae » Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:22 am

Makes sense! That's all working as expected now! Thank you!
Rich
CGRU 2.3.1, Server - Win 2012 R2, 406x Render Nodes - Windows 10.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests