Page 1 of 1

max running time

Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2021 4:03 pm
by keyframe
Heya,

Occasionally a renderer will spin up, begin the tessellation process, and just 'sit there' -- it isn't producing buckets, nor is the process terminating...
When this occurs that frame task will live forever locking up that resource until the frame is restarted, or the job is killed.
It would be useful to set a max time limit that one would expect the job to run, and restart frames that exceed that time threshold.

For example, if I'm expecting a render to weigh in at 10mpf, I set max time limit to 30mpf, and any zombie tasks get re-queued.

Thoughts?

G

Re: max running time

Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2021 8:15 pm
by timurhai
Hi!

There are task maximum run time and progress timeout parameters:
https://cgru.readthedocs.io/en/latest/a ... x-run-time
https://cgru.readthedocs.io/en/latest/a ... ge-timeout

You can set this parameters via Python API on job creation, or from GUI on existing job.

Re: max running time

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 8:03 pm
by keyframe
That's awesome Timur -- i'll be sure to RTFM next time!

:oops:

G

Re: max running time

Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:10 am
by timurhai
btw

I started to collect studios that using Afanasy:
https://cgru.info/

If you want, you can send me a studio site and logo, also you can give me permission to collect some materials from site.

Re: max running time

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 3:27 pm
by keyframe
Heya Timur,

Apologies for the late response. I had a few days off at the tail end of a project.

I'd be happy to help - Attached is the Artjail logo.
Let me know if there's anything else I can help with.

Best,

G

Re: max running time

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 3:56 pm
by timurhai
Thank You!
And a site link, please, i know, i can find, but better to be accurate )

Re: max running time

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 4:55 pm
by timurhai
It is https://www.artjail.com/ ?

I will post it. Correct me if wrong.

Re: max running time

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 5:36 pm
by keyframe
That's the one Timur -- thanks.

G

Re: max running time

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 9:18 pm
by keyframe
Heya Timur,

I've attempted to update my submit scripts with:

Code: Select all

if (rs_override_maxruntime):
    block.setTaskMaxRunTime(rs_maxruntime)
However, the block does not appear to error on any positive integer values [1..5] (I assume seconds as per the docs)...

Is there any indicator in the web gui that would show me that this parameter was in fact set? Other parms (such as host mask - see attachment) seem to be setting correctly, and are providing visual feedback.



G

Re: max running time

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 9:43 pm
by keyframe
Ach.

I'm passing "1" as a string -- when I do it correctly, everything works as expected.

... I'll show myself out ...

G