Page 1 of 1

$JOB variable

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:25 pm
by 90okm
How can i pass the $JOB houdini variable to AF. i'd like it to be a part of $HOUDINI_OTLSCAN_PATH

i've found the only way so far :
i've edited cgru/software_setup/setup_houdini.sh and added this line of code
export JOB=$(${CGRU_LOCATION}/software_setup/houdini_job.py $@ 2>&1)
where houdini_job.py just parses the $@ string trying to find scene path and reconstructs another project path that will be set as the $JOB value

but it seems like rather brutal )))
may be there is another way ?

Re: $JOB variable

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:38 pm
by timurhai
Hi.
This is a solution. And i do not think that it is brutal.
Now i see that Afanasy ROP needs an "extra environment" and "extra command arguments" parameter that can be used in wrappers.

I am using wrapper too, to setup software in different ways.
Any command has a working directory where it will be launched.
Submission script passes current working directory on a job creation.
Artists launch soft with a different setup by clicking on different launchers (scripts).
That scripts just "cd /needed/folder/" and then run needed soft.

Re: $JOB variable

Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:55 pm
by Evgen
Hello Timur.
Is it possible in the file setup_houdini.cmd (under WIN) get path for rendering scene? For pass it to my custom environment script.
Thanks

Re: $JOB variable

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:23 pm
by timurhai
Hi.
You can try to add command arguments %* to this line:
https://github.com/CGRU/cgru/blob/maste ... ini.cmd#L3

Code: Select all

call %CGRU_LOCATION%\software_setup\setup_houdini.cmd %*
Or you can adjust submission script to define some environment variable(s):
http://cgru.info/afanasy/job#block_environment
Then you can ask it anywhere in your custom scripts.

You can also use process working directory to setup different projects (assents) in a differ way.
- i do so.