Wrong client IP address

General discussions and questions.
Mikas
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Wrong client IP address

Post by Mikas »

I was using "wolwake @IP@" in my config, now it's not passing correct IP anymore
Mikas
Renderfarm - Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Clients - mixed Windows and Linux
Afanasy 3.1.1
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 699
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Wrong client IP address

Post by timurhai »

Nothing changed on this theme on latest updated, and for a very long time.
Your network setup makes server to thing that all renders are from the same IP.
(i bet that it is an IP of some router that renders connects to server from)

As far as i understand, you have some custom tool to wake renders.
And it gets a render IP from server. How?
You also can get full info with all IPs, how?
If it is a render item double click from afwath, you can launch afwatch from console, and see how it gets full info.

btw
you can wake render using mac address not ip - use broadcast message.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.1.1, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
Mikas
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Wrong client IP address

Post by Mikas »

Thanks Timurhai.

All the rendernodes are on the cloud, probably cloud provider changed something and as coincidence I saw it after upgrade. Sorry about that.

To answer your questions:

1. I use custom tool that wakes nodes based on IP addresses, as I don't have their physical addresses
2. I use config.json option:

Code: Select all

"af_render_cmd_wolwake":"wolwake @IP@" 
- this is where I send nodes IP
3. I get full info from Afwatcher right click on the node and pressing Show Info

I have one node running on the same node as Afserver, which wakes render nodes when needed
Last edited by Mikas on Thu Feb 18, 2021 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mikas
Renderfarm - Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Clients - mixed Windows and Linux
Afanasy 3.1.1
Mikas
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Wrong client IP address

Post by Mikas »

Basically if I send that command

Code: Select all

wolwake some_IP_address
manually - it still works. So my question is - how can I get that IP from the network card rather then from socket? Is it possible?
Mikas
Renderfarm - Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Clients - mixed Windows and Linux
Afanasy 3.1.1
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 699
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Wrong client IP address

Post by timurhai »

Yes. You can launch afwatch from a console, and see how it gets full info.
In a console mode, afwatch prints in stdout messages that it sends to server.
This is the way to learn Afanasy JSON protocol.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.1.1, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
Mikas
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Wrong client IP address

Post by Mikas »

Cool!

Thanks a lot Timurhai, your help much appreciated!
Mikas
Renderfarm - Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Clients - mixed Windows and Linux
Afanasy 3.1.1
Mikas
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Wrong client IP address

Post by Mikas »

I ran afwatch from command prompt, but it doesn't provide any output there:
Screenshot 2021-02-19 165320.png
Screenshot 2021-02-19 165320.png (156.47 KiB) Viewed 186 times
Any options I need to turn on while running it?
Mikas
Renderfarm - Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Clients - mixed Windows and Linux
Afanasy 3.1.1
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 699
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Wrong client IP address

Post by timurhai »

Sorry, it is only for Linux.
Windows version drops console.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.1.1, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 699
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Wrong client IP address

Post by timurhai »

Also you can look at web gui network logs. (left-bottom button with an arrow)
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.1.1, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
Mikas
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Wrong client IP address

Post by Mikas »

Thanks Timur!
Mikas
Renderfarm - Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Clients - mixed Windows and Linux
Afanasy 3.1.1
Post Reply