Task has not started

General discussions and questions.
Post Reply
keyframe
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 9:43 pm

Task has not started

Post by keyframe »

I'm hoping that i'm missing something obvious so please don't hesitate to point and laugh at me. :D

I submitted a job which simply sits there saying: ERROR: Task is not started.
The hostmask seems legit, the capacity seems fine, the service is available on the targeted nodes, but for some reason it's not being dispatched.

Is there anywhere else I might look for a clue as to why it's not dispatching?

G
--
centOS 8.1, cgru 2.3.1
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Task has not started

Post by timurhai »

Hi.

It can be also stopped when:
- zero max run tasks, max run tasks per host, priority
- hosts can be NIMBY/Paused, has zero max tasks, priority
And same parameters for a job user.

If you are using a new pre-release version with branches, you should also check job branch parameters.

You should always specify version and OS.
You can write in your signature.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.0.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
keyframe
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 9:43 pm

Re: Task has not started

Post by keyframe »

Thanks Timur.

Sadly, it appears that all the suggested parameters are set as expected. Other jobs submitted from the same DCC are running -- but one will not. Must be a ghost in the machine -- or I pushed some bullshit code to the floor ;)

Thanks for following up. I'll post if I ever get to the bottom of this.

G

ps: added sig as per your suggestion.
--
centOS 8.1, cgru 2.3.1
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Task has not started

Post by timurhai »

Hi.
If some is running and some one does not, try to find the difference between them.

Sure, please post if you will find the reason.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.0.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
giel_4321
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:29 am

Re: Task has not started

Post by giel_4321 »

you probably might have found the solution already for this. But I was having the same issue while updating cgru.As for future reference I am adding my solution. I found that services was having conflict while submitting the job. Removing services from af.block will take the generic service and will start the task.

if it was something like

block = af.block('Name of the job', 'some Service')

It should be:
block = af.block('Name of the job')

Timur Knows the best, but just adding what I found helpful.
Post Reply