Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Post Reply
Mikas
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Post by Mikas »

Hi,

I have an issue, I couldn't solve myself. Basically if I set frames per task anything more than 1 mantra still renders 1 frame only. Say I put 2 frames per task. 2 IFD files are being generated correctly, and then mantra task finishes one frame only and marks job as finished.

IFD generation executable:

Code: Select all

frame 1-2
hbatch[hbatch]:1000 frames(1,2,2):
Command:
hrender_af -s 1 -e 2 --by 1 -t "_current_" "N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests\SHOTS\test\LIGHT\pig_oracle_test_open_shader_v012-mantra_render-_current_.1031-131341-596.hip" "/out/PIG"
Working Directory:
N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests
Files:
N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests\SHOTS\test\IMG\RENDERS\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V037\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_acescg_V037_0001.exr
N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests\SHOTS\test\IMG\RENDERS\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V037\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_acescg_V037_0002.exr
Mantra job seems to take into account only first frame and ignore $F4 variable:

Code: Select all

frame 1-2
mantra[mantra]:1000 frames(1,2,2):
Command:
mantra -V a -f N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests\SHOTS\test\CACHE\IFD\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V036\LIGHT_CHAR_PIG_V036_0001.ifd.sc
Working Directory:
N:\PRJ\RND\18008_AzureTests
And afwatch shows that job as done without errors, though mantra rendered one frame (screenshot):

https://drive.google.com/file/d/16fQ79K ... sp=sharing
Mikas
Renderfarm - Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Clients - mixed Windows and Linux
Afanasy 2.3.1
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Post by timurhai »

Hi.

As far as i know mantra can`t render several ifds. And mantra command can't process $F4 or %04d or other numeric patterns in ifd file name.
So it can render one frame per command only.
And you should keep it mind generating jobs.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.0.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
Mikas
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Post by Mikas »

I see. So basically mantra task is limited to one frame per task only then? Is it possible to group them somehow?
Basically what I'm trying to achieve is to launch an instance in the cloud and tell it that I want to render say 10 frames on it and then terminate the instance (node). Is there any way to wrap several mantra frames into one task like this?
Mikas
Renderfarm - Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Clients - mixed Windows and Linux
Afanasy 2.3.1
User avatar
timurhai
Site Admin
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:40 pm
Location: Russia, Korolev
Contact:

Re: Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Post by timurhai »

You can run your script, that will run mantra command in cycle to render an ifds sequence.
Timur Hairulin
CGRU 3.0.0, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, MS Windows 10 (clients only).
Mikas
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:52 am

Re: Mantra frames per task doesn't work

Post by Mikas »

Thanks for the suggestion, will try that.
Mikas
Renderfarm - Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Clients - mixed Windows and Linux
Afanasy 2.3.1
Post Reply