Page 1 of 1

Run substeps on the farm

Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:57 am
by carlo.giesa
Hi there!

I would like to know how I can run substeps geo baking in parallel on the farm. It works on full frames, by setting the geometry ROP to 'Render Current Frame' and on my Afanasy to 'Render Frame Range'. This creates a task per frame that generates my geo file on disk in parallel. If I set the 'increment' to something lower than 1, I get following message boxes popping up:
Houdini_717.png
Houdini_717.png (6.73 KiB) Viewed 109 times
And then:
Houdini_718.png
Houdini_718.png (10.34 KiB) Viewed 109 times
And nothing happens. I checked the code of CGRU and found this line:
https://github.com/CGRU/cgru/blob/maste ... sy.py#L156

If the frame_inc is lower than 1, the function just returns.

How can I run substeps in parallel on the farm?

Thanks for any hint.

Greets,
Carlo

Re: Run substeps on the farm

Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2021 9:00 am
by carlo.giesa
Here is my test scene.

Re: Run substeps on the farm

Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2021 9:32 am
by timurhai
Hi!
For Afanasy frame is a task and can be only integer (several frames in one task). As there can't be 100.25 tasks in the job.
If you want to save geometry in a sub-frames, you can use retime nodes (timeshift, timewarp).

Re: Run substeps on the farm

Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2021 10:02 am
by carlo.giesa
Yes, indeed, that is what I'm about to setup. I'm shifting time of my geometry export to put everything back to full frames. Thanks for your feedback!